Whether you live in Florida or Georgia, know that many drivers don’t carry car insurance or only have the state-required minimums. A personal injury attorney with the Leach Firm, P.A., describes the importance of uninsured motorist coverage for Florida and Georgia drivers.
Florida and Georgia Do Not Require Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Florida’s estimated uninsured motorist rates include approximately 20% of vehicles on the road. While the number is better in Georgia, estimated at between 10-12%, the likelihood of the other driver not having insurance or not having enough insurance is too high in both states.
In Florida, the state minimum liability limits include:
- $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)
- $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL)
In Georgia, the state minimum liability limits include:
- $25,000 per person in bodily injury liability (BIL) (single driver)
- $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability (BIL) (multiple people)
- $25,000 per accident in property damage liability (PDL)
Even drivers with the state minimum requirements may be underinsured if the damages exceed the liability limits.
Florida Is a No-Fault State
The no-fault laws in Florida expedite the insurance claim process since you make a claim on your own insurance policy for injuries in a car accident through your PIP coverage. Your PDL would cover damage to the other driver’s vehicle if you caused the accident.
If your injuries require additional compensation, you can pursue non-economic damages for pain and suffering or mental anguish from a liable party in a personal injury lawsuit. Liable parties could include the other driver who hit you or the city if a bus pulled out in front of you to cause the accident.
Georgia Is an At-Fault State
Georgia allows you to receive compensation by filing a claim with your own insurance company, filing a claim with the other driver’s insurance company, or through a personal injury lawsuit. Because Georgia is an at-fault state, you can file a claim and use the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage to pay for your injuries and property damage.
If the at-fault driver does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance, or if you do not know the liable party to pursue the coverage to pay for your injuries, uninsured motorist coverage applies.
When Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverages Matter Most
As many as one in five drivers in Florida are uninsured, and the state minimum liability limits likely won’t cover all the damages from an accident. While Georgia’s numbers are better, lack of insurance could still be an issue for a catastrophic accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages (UM/UIM) protect you from an accident by providing coverage in these instances as well as accidents where you don’t know the liable party, like hit and run accidents.
Contact Us at The Leach Firm, P.A., to Pursue Compensation for Car Accidents with Uninsured Drivers
Every driver should have uninsured motorist coverage. Serving Florida and Georgia since 2017, we at The Leach Firm, P.A., are personal injury lawyers dedicated to helping our clients pursue just compensation for their car accident injuries. Call us today at 844-722-7567 or contact us online for a free case evaluation.