Lost Wages Lawyer in Florida

Want to Speak with an Employment Lawyer?
  • Can I be fired for filing a case against my employer?
  • If I file a claim, will I have trouble getting another job?
  • Should I file with EEOC before consulting an attorney?
  • How much is my case worth?
  • How long do I have to file a claim?
  • Why should I get an attorney?

Sometimes, employers make mistakes and fail to pay the appropriate hourly wages, overtime wages, tips, or promised bonuses. Other times, unpaid wages are a company’s attempt to take advantage of workers. Either way, employees with unpaid wages should contact a lost wages lawyer at The Leach Firm, P.A., in Pine Hills, FL.

The Leach Firm, P.A., represents clients whose employers owe them missing wages. Call today at 844-722-7567 or complete the online form to learn more about filing wage claims.

Examples of Unpaid Wages

You may suspect your employer hasn’t paid you fairly for the time you worked. What constitutes a wage law violation for the time that you’re owed?

  • An employer failed to pay minimum wage.
  • Your employer didn’t pay the appropriate holiday time.
  • Your employer didn’t pay overtime wages.
  • An employer forced an employee to clock out before finishing work, work while on break, or work before clocking in.
  • An employer didn’t pay promised bonuses, commissions, or tips.
  • Your employer is holding your final paycheck or delaying payment of severance.

The unpaid wages lawyers at The Leach Firm, P.A. can help you determine whether you have unpaid wages from your employer.

Florida Minimum Wage Increases

Florida voted to increase the state minimum wage to $15 per hour, with an annual increase of $1 through 2026. The current minimum wage in Florida is $11 for non-tipped employees. Additionally, tipped employees must earn enough at their base pay to earn $11 in hourly wages after factoring in their tips. The current base rate in Florida for tipped employees is $7.98 per hour.

The scheduled increases in Florida’s minimum wage occur every September 30. The scheduled minimum wage increases will reach:

  • $12 per hour on September 30, 2023
  • $13 per hour on September 30, 2024
  • $14 per hour on September 30, 2025
  • $15 per hour on September 30, 2026

If tipped employees don’t earn enough in tips to make the minimum hourly rate, employers must pay the difference. Whether you earn a regular hourly or tipped wage, you may have a minimum wage claim if your employer fails to pay Florida’s minimum wage amount.

How To Get Your Unpaid Wages From an Employer

Employees have the right to pursue unpaid wages. Contact a lost wages lawyer from The Leach Firm to determine your next steps. Potential remedies include:

  • Filing a lawsuit against your employer in county or circuit court
  • Filing a lawsuit for civil theft to seek treble damages
  • Filing an ordinance complaint with the city or county
  • Filing a wage violation claim with the U.S. Department of Labor

If you are an independent contractor rather than an hourly employee, you may need to pursue alternative legal actions for unpaid wages.

Contact an Unpaid Wages Lawyer in Pine Hills, FL

The Leach Firm, P.A., has decades of combined experience dealing with labor and wage law violations. Call 844-722-7567 or complete the online form to schedule a consultation with a lost wages lawyer in Pine Hills, FL.

Contact Us

    How Much Is Your Employment Case Worth?
    Find Out in 1 Minute.

    Overtime Calculation
    Did you get any pay for your overtime hours worked?

    Why am I being paid less than minimum wage?

    For the most part, workers must be paid a wage that complies with both federal and Florida minimum wage standards. However, there are some job exceptions to the minimum wage requirement, including:

    • Independent contractors
    • Tipped employees (e.g., restaurant servers)
    • Young workers
    • Student workers
    • Farm workers

    Unless an employee falls under an exception, they must receive minimum wage.

    What are the laws concerning employees who receive tips?

    Under the law, tipped employees may receive less than minimum wage so long as they receive enough tips to make up the difference.

    • Tip credits: Tip credits allow employers to "credit" the employees' tips toward satisfying the minimum wage requirements. However, when an employee is performing non-tipped tasks unrelated to tipped duties, the employer may not claim a tip credit for those hours.

    • Tip Pooling: Employers are allowed to pool employees' tips and share them among all employees. By law, employers are not permitted to keep any portion of the gratuity from the tip pool.

    What can I do if my employer is breaking the overtime or minimum wage laws?

    If your employer is violating federal or state wage laws, you can file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor or file a lawsuit to seek compensation. Employees usually find it helpful to work with a dedicated wage attorney who can protect their rights and help take advantage of all available remedies.

    Recover Your Lost Wages with the Help of a Skilled Florida and Georgia Employment Law Attorney

    When your employer has treated you unfairly, either through wage theft, unlawful discrimination, or other practices, you can count on the experienced attorneys at The Leach Firm, P.A. to fight for your rights. Contact us to schedule a free comprehensive consultation in English or Spanish.